young adult book reviews & more

Being Nikki by Meg Cabot

Being Nikki (Airhead)Being the face of Stark Enterprises isn’t easy, especially if the brain behind that face doesn’t really belong to the body it’s in. But that’s Em Watt’s predicament, for better or worse, and she has to learn to deal with that. But juggling high school and a modeling career aren’t her only problems, and neither are all of Nikki’s ex-boyfriends or Lulu’s upcoming holiday party. Because now, Nikki’s brother has appeared with news of his mother’s disappearance, Em’s crush and used-to-be best friend Christopher has made it his mission in life to take down the company Em’s new face represents, Em’s sister is dead set on going to cheerleading camp, and Em has no idea how to convince Christopher that there’s more to this supermodel than meets the eye. But unfortunately for Em, there’s also a lot more to her new life than meets the eye—and this time, it’s for worse.

Cabot does not disappoint with her original and creative mystery sequel to the already fabulous Airhead. Being Nikki succeeds on so many levels and is just such an enjoyable read. Protagonist Em is fun to read about, is witty and sweet, and has such a good heart. Her desires to help people don’t stop at her immediate family but extend even to some people who don’t even like her. She has such drive and determination that is admirable in her search for the truth. But these qualities are just the basis for a good story. A well written character would be nothing without an equally well crafted plot, like the one Cabot has created in Being Nikki. Cabot appeals to a large audience by offering glimpses into the ritzy life of the rich and famous, the not improbably future of science, technology, and medicine, and the sometimes nefarious activities of the corporately powerful. This leads the reader on a sometimes crazy, sometimes dangerous, and entirely satisfying journey with Em to find the truth behind what started this whole mess. Occasionally, little details and events seem to appear out of nowhere, but overall, this story is easy to follow, making for a fantastically unique, suspenseful, and unpredictable mystery readers won’t be able to put down.

All fans of Cabot’s writing, particularly in Airhead and Avalon High, won’t want to miss Being Nikki. I certainly will be eagerly waiting for the next installment in this series, Runaway. Fans of Airhead and Being Nikki may also like And Then Everything Unraveled by Jennifer Sturman.

Rating: 4.75

Review copy from publisher Scholastic

6 munch(es) :

Thao said...

I'm not really interested in this one but I may give it a try. Thanks for the review ^^

Simply_Megan said...

I loved Airhead and can't wait to read this one!

Amelia said...

Great review! I finally tracked a copy of this down Friday. I can't wait to start reading it.

Ashley said...

I'm finishing this one up. It's really good!

Kelly said...

That sounds really good. I still haven't read any Meg Cabot, can you believe it?!

Maggie said...

I've got a little present for you over at my blog!

Post a Comment

Let the munching begin.